I Love Living My Black Girl Life

I love being a Black Woman it’s the smell of coco butter mixed with honey.

It feels like the feeling you get when you hug your mama on a bad day.

It’s the smell of a curling iron + hot comb on the stove.

It’s the sound of a sizzle knowing our hair is getting into formation to perform its magic.

It’s the “Girlllllll” yall sing in unison after a long day. 

Girl meaning everything from “You look good sis!” to “I’m tired of these kids sis!”

It’s the look you give eachother when its time to go. 

It’s an unspoken language! 

I love living my Black Girl life! 

It’s light cascaded over watercolors, Its an elite inner circle.

It’s joy.

It’s vulnerability. 

It’s the sound of laughter and cackling that touches the heavens.

It’s the art on my nails. 

The power in my eyes. 

It’s the swag in my surf and feet.

Oh and it’s the way we eat, or ate, or mf slayedddd. 

Yall I love living my Black Girl life! 

I love spilling, sipping, and sharing tea with women that look like me!

I live for the melanin- dark chocolate, butter pecan, red velvet and every and every flavor in between.

I love being a Black Woman bc its our audacity for me!! 

I love living my Black Girl life free!

Oh and I do it unapologetically! 

Pull up with my music as loud as can be- jamming to Jilly from Philly, JT or the mf Queen B!

When I look at a picture of our brush I just get so happy and cheese,

Because there’s nothing like being a Black Queen to me!!

It’s Black History Month!!✊🏾❤️🖤💚

It’s been a while but I’m coming back to my writing slowly but surely!

As always –

Wishing you no pain unless it’s champagne! 🥂 💋

Leave a comment